2019 HRYF Scholarship Recipient, Seth L. receives $5,000 for Outstanding Academic & Scholastic Achievement from the Hawaii Rotary Youth Foundation and the Rotary Club of Hickam Pearl Harbor.
The Rotary Club of Hickam Pearl Harbor, in partnership with the Hawaii Rotary Youth Foundation, HRYF, awards Seth L. from Mid-Pacific Institute a $5,000 scholarship for college.
For 2019, the Hawaii Rotary Youth Foundation awards $260,000 to 50 high school seniors throughout the Hawaiian Islands. The scholarships are made possible by donations from Rotarians, Rotary Clubs, individuals, and Hawaii Rotary Youth Foundation investments.
About HRYF
The Hawaii Rotary Youth Foundation, was founded by Maurice J. “Sully” Sullivan during his year as the Rotary’s District Governor in Hawaii, 1976-1977. It was Sully’s desire to assist Hawaii’s high school graduates realize their potential by attending a college or university of their choice here in Hawaii or on the mainland United States. He felt that HRYF could be the vehicle to teach our young people about the advantages of the free enterprise system, the basis of our democracy.
The foundation was incorporated in the State of Hawaii as a non-profit on September 3, 1976, with “Sully” as its president until July 1, 1986, when he assumed the position of Chairman of the Board of Trustees. Since then, six others have served as President. Included in this number are three Past District Governors.
The activities of the Foundation are guided by the Charter of Incorporation and a set of by-laws. A membership meeting is convened in the second quarter of each calendar year with club representatives, officers and trustees in attendance.
The first Hawaii Rotary Youth Foundation scholarship was granted in 1977 and since then through March 18, 2018, HRYF has awarded 1750 scholarships with a total value of $6,488,313. In memory of “Sully”, who passed away on February 28, 1998, HRYF established a Maurice J. Sullivan Scholar Award. Each year, one outstanding student will receive this scholarship grant in the amount of $10,000. In 2008, HRYF also established the Joanna Lau Sullivan Scholar Award. This $10,000 award is given to an outstanding student attending a 4-year college or university in Hawaii.
Scholarship awards are $5,000 for graduating Hawaii high school seniors applying as a full-time student to an accredited four-year college or university in the United States to earn a baccalaureate degree.